Wedding Planning – Part 2 – The Dress

15 Jan

 

Evening everyone

I am taking the opportunity of it being reasonably quiet on the cake production front to get on with the wedding planning and (rather obviously) I have started to seek ‘the dress’ already.

Now those who know me know this is bound to be a painful experience as:-

1. I am totally indecisive about pretty much everything in my personal life (I figure its because I make so many decisions in my work life I am decided out on a personal level – well that’s my excuse anyway)

2. I have no idea what suits me. Seriously, not a clue. Hence my love of all things grey and black and a reason why I am never allowed shopping on my own, and finally

3. I have (sensitive people skip this one) really rather large breasts which tend to dominate my body-shape whatever weight the rest of my body decides it is going to be at any point. I.e. they dont shrink however much weight I lose, which makes shopping for anything (let alone THE DRESS) frustrating and at times totally hilarious.

So the hunt has begun and I have had a mixture of experiences in the various shops I have been to. I won’t name the ones that I personally didnt find helpful but I would like to commend a few on the service I received.  The Ivory Secret in Crediton and Truly Delightful in Totnes were patient and flexible whilst I tried on all types of dress and still didnt know what I wanted and Se Marier in Exeter slotted me in on Saturday to try some dresses without an appointment so I must thank all of them for making me feel special and like a proper bride.

I have tried on so many dresses and there are some truly beautiful options out there. There were some styles that I liked but I still dont feel I have found ‘the one’. I am torn between a fun, flirty number or a sophisticated, elegant number. And I like the idea of lace but I am not sure I am vintage enough to carry it off or that it will fit in with our day. (Good example of my indecisiveness in action!). One thing I do know though – I am no Pippa. The lumps and bumps that were on show in the ‘Pippa dress’ in one shop were enough to make the Peak district look flat – so that one is a definite no-no!!

Does anyone else feel like this? Or am I the only crazy bride-to-be out there???

I sign off a confused little bunny and hope that those of you embarking on the search are having more luck than me!!!

Speak soon

Nicki x

P.S I apologise for the lack of credits for the pictures in this post but cant remember where I pulled them from. So if you recognise one of the images please comment and I will of course rectify it immediately!

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Wedding Planning – Part 2 – The Dress”

  1. Beck Willis January 4, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    I dreaded trying dresses as I simply was not a dress person and I basically bought the first dress that I tried. When I came out of the dressing room a woman sat on the chair said “you look amazing”…this was followed by her daughter coming out the the dressing room next door stating “are you buying that dress? have you just arrived?” I replied “yes, its the first dress and I love it”. She burst into tears ” I have been here 3hrs and I can not find anything”. I wonder if the majority of brides to be to return to purchase the first dress they try on after traveling the width of the country!

Leave a Reply

